For Immediate Release (May 26, 2002)

SAS Artisan Fred Fenster Receives 2002 Silversmith's Lifetime Achievement Award

The Society of American Silversmiths (SAS) is excited to announce its third recipient of The Hans Christensen Sterling Silversmith's Award, the most prestigious award in the field. SAS Artisan Fred Fenster, 67, of Sun Prairie, WI, was honored at SilverWorksIV—the Society's annual silversmithing demonstration event, held this year at the DeCordova Museum School in Lincoln, MA.

Fenster was chosen from nominations sent to this year's selection committee: William Frederick, SAS Artisan and 2001 Award winner, Harold Schremmer, SAS Artisan & 2000 Award winner, and Advisor: Jeffrey Herman.

Fenster's complete biography and selected sterling objects he created can be seen on the Society's Web site at, where you will also find information on Hans Christensen.

About the Award

The award is named after the late Hans Christensen, silversmith at Georg Jensen Silversmithy in Denmark, and Professor of Silversmithing at Rochester Institute of Technology, Rochester, New York. The annual award honors those individuals who have made significant contributions to the field.

Fenster receives a full size sterling and walnut planishing hammer patterned after a 50th birthday present given to Hans in 1974 by his students. The hammer head is hand engraved: Hans Christensen Sterling Silversmith's Award, May 25, 2002, Fred Fenster, A Sterling Silversmith. The hammer was created by Thomas Sandretto, former student and originator of the award. The sterling letters "HC" for Hans Christensen, and "FF" for Fred Fenster, were created by Jill Kinik, former student, and David Pimentel, also a former student of Hans's, created the walnut base and support arms in sterling. Additional sponsors including Jim Chal, Chip DeMatteo, Chuck Evans, Jill Kenik, David Pimentel, Tom Sandretto, Burr & Mary Sebring, Neil Terkelsen, and Vaasa Sterling, lent both financial and creative assistance. Also presented to Fenster was a 12"x12" sheet of the new Argentium Sterling and a framed certificate.

Who is Eligible? (1) Any silversmith who is a United States citizen, (2) academics, professionals, and those working in the industry, (3) the nominee must be at least 50 years of age and a practicing silversmith for at least 20 years, (4) the silversmith must be living.

About the Society

The Society of American Silversmiths (SAS) was founded in 1989 as the world's only professional organization solely devoted to the preservation and promotion of contemporary silversmithing. Its Artisan members, those silversmiths both practicing and retired, who now or used to smith as a livelihood, are provided with support, networking, discounts, and greater access to the market. All Artisans have been juried into SAS based on their outstanding technical skill as silversmiths. In addition to nurturing student silversmiths, SAS also educates the public in demystifying silversmithing techniques and the aesthetic value of this art form through its free consulting service, the SASnews quarterly newsletter, American Silversmith annual, and exhibitions. Our Web site, located at, is the largest and most comprehensive site devoted to silversmithing on the Internet.

Society of American Silversmiths
Contact: Jeffrey Herman
PO Box 786
Providence, RI 02907
Tel: 401/461-6840
Fax: 401/461-6841
E-mail: Press <>

* Photographs of Fred Fenster are available by contacting the Society.
* This press releases can be e-mailed in text or Word format for easy editing.
* Image can also be e-mailed as a tif file: 460 x 490 pixels x 500 dpi. x 668 KB.


Hans Christensen Sterling Silversmith's Award
Back to News Archive
Back to Home Page